The City of Key West, Florida

The Southernmost City in the Continental United States


Coastal Barrier Resources System

There is only one COBRA zone within the City of Key West.  This zone, shown on the hatched area of the map excerpt below, rests wholly over land owned by the State (Ft. Zachary Taylor State Park) or the US military.  Military land is not within the jurisdiction of the City.

The Coastal Barrier Resources Act (COBRA) of 1982 and later amendments, removed the Federal government from financial involvement associated with building and development in undeveloped portions of designated coastal barriers (including the Great Lakes). These areas were mapped and designated as Coastal Barrier Resources System units or "otherwise" protected areas.

They are colloquially called COBRA zones. COBRA banned the sale of NFIP flood insurance for structures built or substantially improved on or after a specified date.

For the initial COBRA designation, this date is October 1, 1983. For all subsequent designations, this date is the date the COBRA zone was identified. COBRA zones and their identification dates are shown on Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs).

Communities may permit development in these areas even though no Federal assistance is available, provided that the development meets NFIP requirements.



Large FEMA Map of CBRS Boundaries  

FEMA Guidance on COBRA Areas

Contact Us

Scott Fraser,
FEMA Coordinator/Floodplain Administrator
Building Department
1300 White St
Key West, FL 33040
Get Directions

In this Department

Topics of Interest