Floodplain Management

National Flood Insurance Program

During 1971, the City of Key West joined the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), which is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The NFIP establishes flood zones and minimum flood levels to set flood insurance premiums. It also establishes construction standards for buildings in the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) with type "A" and "V" flood zones. The NFIP generally requires a flood insurance policy for any property in the SFHA that is covered by a mortgage, because most financial institutions are backed by federal insurance.


Anyone can use this website to:

Outside the city limits of 

Key West

This site is only applicable to those buildings within the corporate limits of the City of Key West, Florida. Several areas outside the city limits receive their mail from the Key West Post Office. They may have a "Key West" mailing address but aren’t actually located in the City, such as:

  • Key West Airport
  • Naval Air Station
  • Raccoon Key
  • Rockland Key
  • Stock Island (South Side)

If you are in one of the categories outlined, refer to Monroe County Floodplain Management.